Updates

So time flies by, and my project 1 is due in 2 weeks, I thought maybe it’s time for me to come up here and document what I’ve been doing so far.

Right after I decide to focus on the topic of “miss”ing, I designed an “entry” project, a mini experiment in the studio to collect what people are missing. I categorized the “misses” into people, objects and memories, and the further you post from the figure in the middle, the more you miss them.

dsc_8744

I placed the poster in the MDP studio, and I gathered over 30 posts over four days. However, as I was observing people putting post on the poster, I realized there were several design flaws in the project.

1. The “oval grid” I used which was supposed to serve as a range indicator didn’t work at all, it became just a visual decoration to the audiences and even created unnecessary questions. The first question I got after putting up the poster was : yo, Ping, wut’s up with the tracks?

2. The description located in the middle was way too small and the audience didn’t even care to read before they post. I’ve observed people who were excited to post things on it, but they just slapped on any empty space on the poster. So basically the “Range finder” didn’t work …..at all.

3. The last flaw was a tiny thoughtless mistake, but turned into a huge critical effect. I placed the names of the categories underneath the post-its, on the bottom of the poster, which was only 40 inches above the floor, and it turned out that nobody could see the words. What happened in the end was people not knowing that each color represented a category, and they just posted whatever color they liked the most.

 

Besides having people voluntarily participate in my project, I also designed a survey sheet containing 5 questions in order to know more about how people “miss”. The five questions I had was : 

1. Three things that you miss the most.

2. What do you do when you miss them?

3. When or Where do you miss them?

4. Check the box to the emotions that could best describe how you feel when you miss them.

5. How are the things that you miss related to your body?

One of the advantages of doing a survey sheet is that it has the capacity to ask more questions. Although it might be more time consuming to the audience, but also more detailed and in depth the questions can be. The design of a survey sheet is actually harder than I thought, too much questions will shy your audience away, too less will not provide enough information. It’s the balance that you have to find to make it work.

survey3 

 

After the small experiment I did in the studio, Mari Nakano and I decided to do a joint project in the cafeteria. What we did was putting a huge poster up on the cafeteria wall, and had labels for people to write down three things to stick on the poster. The three themes that we had was “I believe”, “I miss” and “I wish”. ”
dsc_8762
The first day when we had it up, not much people really paid attention to it or wrote anything. But after the second and the third day, people started to respond a lot, I even had to create new labels everyday cause we would just run out off labels. The poster was up in the cafeteria for almost a week, and then we took it down and started to analyze what we got.

Leave a Reply

